ease my mind


+

uma the cat, abandoned in a building by the 2nd floor girl. i started feeding him in the garden, calling him “mono”. later on he appeared in my balcony. he started sitting on my lap. he started sitting in the lap of my friends when we were in the living talking. so i decided to make a pact with him -you can stay as long as you don’t ruin my plants and my books (since they were lying in the floor). He kept with the pact and stayed. A friend told me it was a lady cat… so i started calling her uma, later on i could contact the girl that abandoned her to ask a bit of the her history, what she ate etc… she answered me, It turned out to be a castrated male cat… ( do i need to say that i am so against castration… if you don’t want nature then buy a plastic cat.. i tell my friends, don’t castrate them only because you feel lonely and want something alive when you come home late… they all start talking how happy their cats are happy with them… -yes i answer , because they don’t know anything else…)

Anyhow i thought changing the name again will create too much confusion… and since he/she is castrated ain’t no matter the name genre, i also thought , my cat ( i already considered my possession…) was a travesty, and i liked the thought, so some times i treat uma like a boy, others like a girl. Don’t we all want that?

pets has the ability to ease our minds… i need this, i need animals, they don’t need me, i need them. go to a zoo or an aquarium to submit to other logic and learn from it.

*music _ Ahmad Jamal

uma, el gato. abandonado en el edificio por la chica del 2do. comencé a alimentarlo en jardín y llamarlo “mono”. Más tarde apareció en mi balcón. Sentarse en mi regazo. Sentarse sobre mis amigos cuando estábamos en living charlando, entonces decidí hacer un pacto con el – podés quedarte mientras no rompas las plantas ni los libros que están en el suelo. Él cumplió el pacto y se quedó. Una amiga me dice que era una gata… entonces decido llamarla “uma” más tarde logro contactar la dueña anterior para preguntarle sobre la historia.. su rutina qué comía etc…
me contesta. Uma resulta ser un gato castrado… ( necesito decir que estoy absolutamente en contra de la castración de animales, les digo a mis amigos -si no querés naturaleza comprate un gato de plástico… no lo castres sólo porque te sentís sólo y querés algo vivo que te reciba cuando volvés tarde a tu departamento… todos me responden cuan feliz está el gato con ellos… -si, les digo, porque no conoce otra cosa…)

Bien, decido no volver a cambiarle nombre para evitar más confusión, y dado que él/ella está castrado no interesa el género.. también pensé, mi gato ( ya lo consideraba una de mis posesiones) es un travesti, me gusta esa idea. A veces lo trato como a un chico, y otras como a una lady, no es eso lo que todos queremos?

las mascotas tienen la habilidad de tranquilizar la mente, necesito eso. Necesito animales, ellos no me necesitan a mí, yo preciso de ellos. ir al zoológico, a un acuario y sucumbir ante otra lógica, aprender de ella.


About this entry