DROITE – tattoo

drotte_01

drotte_02
_
I thought i would never want to make myself a tattoo. Why going through pain if i can choose not to.
In a life story full of surgeries, choosing becomes a privilege. For those who don’t have the opportunity to choose going through a pain cause that situation had to do with facts external to the self will, why choosing pain?. I realised then all i see when i see a tattoo is a trace of pain. i nod myself.. thinking is hard for me to read the joy of making a tattoo, the joy of choosing what to tell to the world, or to the self, i think …sometimes tattoo are just for oneself. Is a speech you want to remember yourself. Like a private pray.

I see in this tattoo DROITE, the character has tattooed in her right muscle, onto a body that for certain circumstances ( don’t want to ruin you the movie..) has a missing limb. When i saw this tattoo i felt for the first time in my life the desire to make myself a tattoo. I think i understand why she wanted to make that tattoo. I assumed, – she wanted to gain herself back “identity”. She wanted nothing would take away her identity.

She wanted nothing would say things in advance about her identity. She wanted to exist, cause she does. She exist completely, she names what is existing. She says “right” and nothing of herself is missing there.

I tell myself, if i ever make a tattoo, it will be this. I don’t know weather the writer of the script / book the movie is based in, imagined how perfect his election was. I will make that tattoo, for me, and in homage to this book.

The director chooses in the scene where she is making the tattoo a song, he chooses Bruce Sprinting State Trooper, i hear Bruce saying -please don’t stop me.-That line becomes a prayer to me.

////////////////////////////////////

tattoo
creí que nunca iba querer hacerme un tatuaje, por qué eligiría tener dolor cuando puedo elegir no tenerlo. En una historia de vida llena de cirugías, elegir es un privilegio. Para aquellos que no tenemos la oportunidad de elegir cuando cómo y por qué razones tener dolor, porque la situación está allí dada por fuera de la voluntad de uno, por qué elegir dolor?
Me doy cuenta que lo primero que leo a ver un tatuaje, es el dolor en la piel, me digo, claro eso tiene que ver con mi propia historia de cirugías… me cuesta leer el “goce del resultado”, de la elección de un símbolo que te da felicidad llevar, ese mensaje que querés contarle al mundo, o que querés leer, leer en tu propio cuerpo y recordártelo a modo de plegaria privada.

Veo este tatuaje “DERECHA” el personaje se ha tatuado la palabra “DERECHA” en su muslo
derecho, en un cuerpo que por ciertas circunstancias (no quiero arruinar la película)
le falta el resto de su pierna..Veo el tatuaje, por primera vez siento el deseo de hacerme un tatuaje, entiendo, creo que entiendo.. porqué ella decidió hacérselo… Asumo -quiso darse identidad, quiso que nada le saque su identidad.

Quiso que nada que le falte o sobre diga demasiado acerca de su identidad. Quiso existir, porque ella existe. Existe completamente, ella nombra la existencia. Ella dice “derecha” y se reconoce completamente en esa palabra. Nada de ella falta allí.

Me digo.. si alguna vez me hago un tatuaje será ese.. no sé si el escritor del libro imaginó que perfecta es su elección, que liberador que haya eligido ese tatuaje. Me haré ese tatuaje, si alguna vez decido hacerme uno, será ese. Por mí y por ese libro.

El director elige como banda de sonido mientras ella se hace el tatuaje, State Trooper de Bruce Springsteen, oigo a Bruce decir “please don’t stop me”. Esa frase cobra una fuerza de plegaria en mi, “please don’t stop me”, por favor no me paren.
_

film : RUST & BONE . dir > Jacques Audiard
Based on Rust and Bone by Craig Davidson
_


About this entry